login continuous email location arrow-point-to-right phone calendar translate search

Welcome To

City Academy Whitehawk

Call Us Email Us Find Us

CAW LAB Information

Composition of the Local Academy Board of City Academy Whitehawk 


Name and Surname

Term of Office

Chair – appointed by AAT

Janis Taylor

20.09.2021 - 19.09.2025

Headteacher (ex officio)

Thomas McMorrin

20.04.2020 - 

Two Parent members – elected by parents



Mikaela Middleton

07.10.2020 - 06.10.2024

One Staff member – elected by staff

Margaret Mansell

29.09.2021 - 28.09.2025

A minimum of two co-opted members, appointed by the LAB

Richard Benton-Stace

15.09.2018 - 14.09.2022

Laurie Fry23.09.2.21 - 22.09.2025
Katy Hampshire22.10.2021 - 21.10.2025
Richard Merrick23.09.2021 - 22.09.2025


The following governors also served on the Governing Body in the last year:


Dave Bailey, 01.09.2017 - 20.03.2021

Lorraine Mitchell, 26.03.2020 - 21.10.2021


Register of Interests


Local Academy Board of City Academy Whitehawk 

Register of Interests 2021-2022



Nature of interest

Date interest was registered


Richard Benton-Stace

University tutor at Brighton University - School of Education


Co-opted Member

Laurie Fry

Employment:  Semi-retired

Director and Shareholder: Flywheel IT Services

Member of CIMA (Chartered Institute of Management Accountants)



Co-opted Member

Katy Hampshire

Employment: Education and Employers (charity)

Trusteeship:  Brighter Futures Zambia

Membership:  Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland

02.11.2021Co-opted Member

Margaret Mansell

Employment:  City Academy Whitehawk


Staff Member

Thomas McMorrinEmployment:  City Academy Whitehawk15.09.2020Headteacher
Richard Merrick

Employment:  Curate, St Cuthmans

Parent of two children at the school

27.09.2021Co-opted Member
Mikaela Middleton

Employment:  Lloyds Pharmacy

Parent of one child at the school

21.10.2020Parent Member
Lorraine MitchellEmployment:  3BM Education Services Ltd (owned by Strictly Education Ltd)10.03.2020Co-opted Member, resigned 21.10.2021

Janis Taylor

None declared





Attendance Record 



Autumn 2020Spring 2021Summer 2021Total      

Dave Bailey

6 out of 74 out of 4n/a10 out of 11

Richard Benton-Stace

6 out of 74 out of 42 out of 212 out of 13

Laurie Fry

7 out of 74 out of 41 out of 212 out of 13

Maggie Mansell

3 out of 72 out of 41 out of 26 out of 13
Mikaela Middleton0 out of 42 out of 40 out of 22 out of 10
Thomas McMorrin7 out of 74 out of 42 out of 213 out of 13
Lorraine Mitchell6 out of 70 out of 42 out of 28 out of 13

Janis Taylor

7 out of 74 out of 41 out of 212 out of 13

Explore Our


More Information